

MINISTRY OF HEALTH & MEDICAL SERVICES P O BOX 268 BIKENIBEU TARAWA



Phone: 686 740 28100 email: <u>info@mhms.gov.ki</u>

Updated: 06/03/20

HEALTH TRAVEL ADVISORY & RESTRICTIONS

IN RELATION TO THE 2019 NOVEL CORONAVIRUS (COVID -2019)

All travelers FROM and TO KIRIBATI (Tarawa and Kiritimati) are advised to take note of the following:

- 1. Citizens and residents of Kiribati who are planning to travel to areas and territories in countries with sustained transmission are recommended to avoid non-essential travel
- 2. In the event that travel cannot be postponed; preventive measures should be adhered to at all times.
- 3. In case of symptoms suggestive of acute respiratory illness before travel, travelers are encouraged to seek medical attention and advise about travel restrictions
- 4. In case of symptoms suggestive of acute respiratory illness during and after travel, travelers are encouraged to seek medical attention and share travel history with health care providers.
- 5. A Health Arrival Form is to be filled out and copies of e-tickets to be provided by all incoming travellers upon arrival to Kiribati through Tarawa and Kiritimati.
- 6. All incoming international travelers will be subjected to temperature check upon arrival to the international airports and seaports in Kiribati.
- 7. All Travelers from areas and territories in countries with ongoing local transmission¹¹ of novel coronavirus must spend at least 14 days² in a country free of the COVID-2019, and to provide a medical clearance to confirm and/or prove this coronavirus free status.
- 8. In the event that travelers arrive earlier than the required 14-day-period, health quarantine measures may be applied and deportation to the country of travel origin would be considered depending on the health status of the individual.
- 9. Such travel advisory applies to all travelers including returning residents as the country has highly vulnerable group (high incidence of NCDs) of COVID-19 and also the absence or limited capacity of clinical management and ability to contain the virus if introduce.

THESE REQUIREMENTS WILL COME INTO FORCE EFFECTIVE IMMEDIATELY.

All travelers are required to comply with the required preventive measures.

PREVENTIVE MEASURES

^{1 1} confirmed local transmission in line with WHO SitRep

At all times

- Avoid close contact with people suffering from acute respiratory infections
- People with symptoms of acute respiratory infection should practice cough etiquette (maintain distance, cover coughs and sneezes with disposable tissues or clothing and wash hands)
- Avoid contact with animals (alive or dead), visiting animal markets, and purchasing products that come from animals (such as uncooked meat).²
- Wash hands often with soap and clean water for at least 20 seconds. Use an alcohol- based hand sanitizer if soap and water are not available.
- Older travelers and those with underlying health issues may be at risk for more severe disease and should discuss travel to affect areas and territories with their health care provider.
- In order to minimize the risk of transmission, people travelling to the affected area should maintain good hand and personal hygiene.
- Travelers should seek medical attention if they develop respiratory symptoms within 14 days if
 visiting any other affected countries or countries with local transmissions, informing their health
 service prior to their attendance about their recent travel to the affected country.
- Self-Quarantine at home to minimize spread of infection

These measures are being undertaken to protect Kiribati from the introduction of this infection into our communities. For more information contact **Mrs Kaaro Neeti** (Secretary, MHMS) on (686) 74028100 extension 202; or (686) 73072357 or Director of Public Health 73058772, or Deputy Director of Public Health 73007258

Country with confirmed local transmission of COVID-19				
1. Peoples Republic of China including				
Hong Kong SAR, Macau SAR and				
Taipei environs	21. Denmark			
2. Singapore	22. San Marino			
3. Japan	23. United Arab Emirates			
4. South Korea	24. Canada			
5. Malaysia	25. Indonesia			
6. Viet Nam	26. Lebanon			
7. Australia	27. Switzerland			
8. Thailand	28. Sweden			
9. United State of America (Main Land)	29. Israel			
10. Germany	30. Romania			
11. France	31. Ecuador			
12. United Kingdom	32. Algeria			
13. Spain	33. Belgium			
14. Italy	34. Portugal			
15. Iran (Islamic Republic of)	35. Belarus			
16. Norway	36. Bosnia and Herzegovina			
17. Netherlands	37. India			
18. Croatia				
19. Greece				
20. Finland				