The Smaller Island States (SIS) of the Pacific Islands Forum comprising the Cook Islands, Federated States of Micronesia (FSM), Kiribati, Nauru, Niue, Palau, Republic of the Marshall Islands, and Tuvalu, have unique and particular vulnerabilities linked to their small size, limited natural resources, and remoteness which constrain their capacity to ensure resilience and long-term sustainable development.

Given such limited capacity, the Pacific Forum recognized the special development needs of the SIS. Consequently, the SIS Programme Unit, based at the Pacific Islands Forum Secretariat (PIFS) in Suva, Fiji was established in 2006. The adoption of the SIS Regional Strategy 2016-2020 in 2016 by the Forum Leaders confirmed their commitment to enhancing the sustainable development of the SIS.

The SIS Officers (SISOs) have been engaged by the PIFS since 2006. The SISOs were established within SIS Governments with a key role as an essential link between the SIS and the SIS Programme Unit at PIFS.
Specific functions include:
– Effective facilitation and implementation of the SIS work programme;
– Advocacy of regional priorities and decisions of SIS/Forum Leaders;
– Coordination of in-country feedback and submission to PIFS/CROP agencies;
– Facilitation of visits of PIFS/CROP agencies staff and nominations; and
– Monthly and quarterly reporting on achievements and events.

The SISO for Kiribati is Ms. Roreti Eritai since July 2019. For queries on SIS and Pacific regionalism, contact SISO on email: